Extended Outlook on Digital Differences

Reading and commenting on my classmates’ posts about Digital Differences has truly been an eye-opening experience for me.

From my discussion with Eva,  I’ve gained a substantial awareness of not just the issue of Digital Inequality, but also the suitable ways that can be taken to minimise it and its detrimental effect on digital learning. We talked about how young generation can benefit more from a structured digital learning environment, rather than being left alone without guidance because of the assumption that they are already technology savvy.

How to Pack Light for Your Next Adventure

Infographic created by Evelyn Lo, powered by Canva, information sourced from SlidePlayer.com

I also had a dialogue with Yvonne where she highlighted the consequence of Digital Inequality on learning, particularly driven by economic status. From her reply, I discovered that many teenagers who come from poorer households suffer both socially and educationally as a result of having no internet access in their homes, which is very critical as much of their homework requires online research.

quote-society-always-needs-a-level-playing-field-in-order-to-do-that-you-have-to-have-opportunity-jackie-joyner-kersee-155-61-37

Image taken from Azquotes.com

Furthermore, the comment from Thanh enlightened me about government’s policy on internet access as a critical aspect of Digital Inequality, which I have totally overlooked before. Her comment made me realise that there are a lot of people who live in countries which impose extremely strict restriction on internet access, which can severely hinder their digital skills.

new-piktochart_26094893

Infographic created by Evelyn Lo, by Piktochart, information sourced from USA Today.

Overall, the discussions that I had with my classmates have definitely widened my understanding around the topic and allowed me to see more than just my own perspective of Digital Differences, but also other people’s points of view as well as their various experiences regarding Digital Differences along with its impacts on their learning. I’ve also gained valuable insight of both key contributors and possible solutions to Digital Inequality around the world. All of this wouldn’t have come to my attention if I didn’t engage with other people’s works and opinions.

Word Count : 298

Reference :

USA Today. 2014. Top 10 Internet-censored Countries. https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/world/2014/02/05/top-ten-internet-censors/5222385/

 

 

Leave a comment